banner

Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty

Geri Smith
Department Chair
Professor
Geri.Smith@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Late-medieval French poetry and theater. Women authors and representations of women in Medieval French literature. Evolving concepts of author and text in the Middle Ages.

Keith S. Folse
Keith S. Folse
Director of TESOL M.A. Program & UGRD TEFL Cert.
Professor
Keith.Folse@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Second language vocabulary acquisition; ESL grammar; teacher training; best teaching practices.

Lisa Nalbone
Lisa Nalbone
Associate Professor
Director of Spanish M.A. Program
Lisa.Nalbone@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Modern and Contemporary Spanish and Spanish American Literatures, including Fin de Siècle (19th-20th) Spain; Hispanic Modernisms; Gender Studies; 20th Century Spanish Women's Writing; Spanish Civil War; Generation of 98

Faculty

Marcella A. Farina
Marcella A. Farina
Assistant Professor
Marcella.Farina@ucf.edu

Research Interests: My primary research interests are phonological acquisition and pronunciation teaching & learning. I am also interested in language proficiency testing & instruction and online language teaching & learning.

José Fernández
José Fernández
Professor
Jose.Fernandez@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Latin America, Colonial Spanish Letters and Hispanics in U.S.

Francisco J. Fernández-Rubiera
Francisco J. Fernández-Rubiera
Assistant Professor
Rubiera@ucf.edu

Research Interests: His general areas of specialization are syntax, semantics and pragmatics (how word-order alternations in the sentence architecture affect the interpretive component and in what situations) in Spanish, Asturian, Portuguese and English. More specifically, he is interested in the status of clitics, the factors that interplay in their position at the sentence level, complementizer systems and Main Clause Phenomena.

Martha García
Martha García
Associate Professor
Martha.Garcia@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Coordinator of the Honors in the Major of the College of Arts & Humanities; Cervantes / Don Quixote ; Spanish Medieval & Golden Age / Early Modern; Spanish Enlightenment Literature; Reformation(s); Interdisciplinarity; Theological aspects of the narrative and theatre; Contemporary adaptations of literary classics; Rhetoric; Applied theory

Paolo Giordano
Paolo Giordano
Neil R. Euliano Professor
Paul.Giordano@ucf.edu

Research Interests:  Italian Literature of Emigration, Italian-American Literature, Renaissance and 20th Century Italian Literature

Lucas Izquierdo
Lucas Izquierdo
Assistant Professor
Lucas.Izquierdo@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Twentieth Century Latin American Literatures & Cultures; Decolonial & Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Critical Theory; Cultural Studies

Ali Korosy
Associate Instructor
Alice.Korosy@ucf.edu
Alla Kourova
Alla Kourova
Assistant Professor
Alla.Kourova@ucf.edu

Research Interests: The Impact of Russian Cultural Awareness on the Acquisition of Russian Language in American Higher Education

Humberto López Cruz
Humberto López Cruz
Pegasus Professor
HLopez@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Hispanic Literature in the US, Spanish Caribbean and Central American Literatures--concentration on Panamá.

Chiara Mazzucchelli
Chiara Mazzucchelli
Associate Professor
Chiara.Mazzucchelli@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Italian Studies, Italian-American Studies, Cultural Studies, Ethnic Studies  

Florin Mihai
Florin Mihai
Associate Professor
Florin.Mihai@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Language and Content-Area Assessment for English Language Learners, Grammar Instruction, Pre- and In-service Teacher Education, Curriculum Development in Global Contexts.

Evelin Pegoraro
Evelin Pegoraro
Visiting Instructor
Evelin.Pegoraro@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Romance Comparative Phonetics, Morphology, and Syntax; Historical Linguistics; Bilingualism and Second Language Acquisition; Spanish, Portuguese, and Italian Languages and Literatures.

Julie Pomerleau
Associate Instructor
Julie.Pomerleau@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Second language acquisition and teaching, I believe learning a language should be fun. On a personal level, I like to travel to Spanish speaking countries and I have done volunteer work in Peru and Guatemala.

Anne Prucha
Anne Prucha
Associate Instructor
Anne.Prucha@ucf.edu
Kerry Purmensky
Kerry Purmensky
Associate Professor
Kerry.Purmensky@ucf.edu

Research Interests: CALL, Service Learning, P-12 ESOL, Grammar and Critical Pedagogy.

Maria Redmon
Maria Redmon
Associate Instructor
Maria.Redmon@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Translation and Interpretation, Business Spanish and Spanish Language for Specific Purposes.

Aimee Schoonmaker
Visiting Instructor of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages M.A. Program
Aimee.Schoonmaker@ucf.edu
Sandra Sousa
Sandra Sousa
Assistant Professor of Portuguese
Sandra.Sousa@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Colonialism and post-colonialism;; Portuguese Colonial Literature;; Race relations in Mozambique;; War, dictatorship and violence in contemporary Portuguese and Luso-African literature;; Feminine writing in Portuguese, Brazilian and African literature.

Grazia A Spina
Grazia A Spina
Associate Instructor
Maria.Spina@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Italian, French and German languages and cultures. Second language acquisition. My online persona for my fully online courses is a world traveler.

Charlotte Trinquet
Associate Professor
Charlotte.TrinquetDuLys@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Early modern French literature, Fairy tales and Folklore. North American Francophone literature and its relationship with colonial France

Alvaro Villegas
Alvaro Villegas
Assistant Professor
Villegas@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Psycholinguistics: bilingualism, second language acquisition, and language processing.

Gergana Vitanova
Gergana Vitanova
Associate Professor
Gergana.Vitanova@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Identity, agency, and socio-cultural approaches to second language acquisition, with a special focus on Bakhtin's notion of dialogue; narrative as a method of research and qualitative data in applied linguistics; English as an international language.

Part-Time Faculty

Maria Barbosa
Adjunct of Spanish M.A. Program
Maria.Barbosa@ucf.edu

Graduate Assistant

Andon Dansberger
Graduate Teaching Associate
Andon.Dansberger@ucf.edu
Nirmal Ghimire
Graduate Teaching Associate
Nirmal.Ghimire@ucf.edu
Lanfang Hu
Lanfang Hu
Graduate Teaching Associate
Lanfang.Hu@ucf.edu
Shirley Jarrin
Graduate Teaching Associate
Shirley.Jarrin@ucf.edu
Arnei Morejon
Graduate Teaching Associate
Arnei.Morejon@ucf.edu
Colin Nohr
Colin Nohr
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Colin.Nohr@ucf.edu
Yasemin Peker
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Yasemin.Peker@ucf.edu
Carolina Salazar
Graduate Teaching Assistant
carolina.salazar@ucf.edu

Staff

Susan Jefferson
Susan Jefferson
Administrative Services Coordinator
Susan.Jefferson@ucf.edu
Department of Modern Languages & Literatures • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Phone: 407-823-2472 Fax: 407-823-6261 • Website Technical Support: cahweb@ucf.edu